Renewal of the IBCR Board of Directors

Last Saturday 21 and Sunday 22 September, was held the annual meeting of our Board of Directors, an opportunity to review the past year and discuss the Bureau’s future orientations and objectives for the year to come. This meeting also allowed us to renew part of the Board of Directors, and to welcome new faces to the table.

The IBCR wishes to warmly thank Najat Maalla M’Jid, former president of the Board until last May, for her unwavering support and her contribution throughout the years. We wish her all the best in her new position of Special Representative of the UN Secretary General on Violence against Children. We would also like to thank Marianne Limoges and Rajae Sbihi, and wish them all the best in their respective projects. Their commitment and involvement in the promotion and protection of children’s rights is remakable in every aspect, and the Bureau has had the great priviledge of being able to rely on their expertise throughout their terms of office.

We are pleased to welcome Cisse Mariama Mohamed (African Union Commission), Roberta Cecchetti (Save the Children, UNICEF, Global Detention Project…), Nadja Furth (Goethe-Institute of Montréal and Ottawa) and Ghizlane Benjelloun (Moroccan Society of Child Psychiatry and Associated Professions, Ibn Rochd University Hospital Centre of Casablanca, Morocco), to the Board. There is no doubt that their expertise in the field of Human Rights and the variety of their experiences will enrich the Bureau’s projects.

As for the role distribution of the Board of Directors for this new year, Théophane Nikyema succeeds to Najat Maalla N’jid as President, and is supported by Emmanuelle Tremblay, Vice-President. Jean-Claude Legrand is appointed Secretary and Nadja Furth assumes the role of Treasurer.

Click here to read the biographies of the IBCR Board members


Not in the picture: Emmanuelle Tremblay and François Crépeau